Change the world

Public Law


Welcome to the Department of Public Law


From left to right: Ms Ntemesha Maseka (teaching and research assistant), Prof Avinash Govindjee (Executive Dean),Prof Hennie van As, Mr David Abrahams Dr Joanna Botha (Head of Department), Mr E van der Berg and Mrs Rochelle Redcliffe.

The Department of Public Law is one of the four departments of the Faculty of Law and aligns itself completely with the vision and mission of the Faculty and the NMMU. In addition to ensuring quality provision of education in subjects falling within the broad area of "Public Law" (such as Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, Human Rights Law, Public and Private International Law and Jurisprudence), the Department focuses in particular on research production and post-graduate supervision. Areas of speciality include Social Security Law, Human Rights Law, Freedom of the Press, Regulation of Hate Speech and Hate Crimes, Firearms Control, Game and Hunting Law, Military Law and International Humanitarian Law, as well as local government law and legal aid.

Members of the Department are fully engaged at Faculty and institutional levels, and also make significant contributions in their interactions with broader society, nationally and internationally.

Dr Joanna Botha is the Head of the Department of Public Law. The other members of the Department are Mr David Abrahams, Prof Hennie van As and Mr Eugene van der Berg. Mrs Rochelle Redcliffe provides secretarial assistance. The Department is privileged to have two eminent Adjunct Professors, in Judge Glenn Goosen and Adv Lilla Crouse, and  Research Associate Prof EA Taiwo.



Congratulations to Prof Hennie van As who has been appointed by the mayor, Councillor Athol Trollip, as a member of the Civilian Oversight Committee, in respect of the Metro Police