Head of Department
Joanna Botha
Prof Joanna Botha
Position: Head of Department: Public Law
Department: Public Law
Room: 118, Embizweni
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2635
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Joanna.Botha@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA LLB (Rhodes), LLD (NMMU), Attorney
Expertise: Freedom of Expression and Hate Speech; Equality; Media Law; Moot Court
My site: https://publiclaw.mandela.ac.za/Staff/Prof-Joanna-Botha

Academic staff
Prof Avinash Govindjee
Prof Avinash Govindjee
Position: Executive Dean: Faculty of Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 114
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2676
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Avinash.Govindjee@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA LLB (Rhodes), LLM (UPE) LLD (NMMU), Attorney
My site: http://law.nmmu.ac.za/Prof-Avinash-Govindjee

Prof. Hennie J. Van As
Professor Hendrik Van As
Position: Professor of Public Law and Director of the Centre for Law in Action (CLA)
Department: Centre for Law in Action (CLA)
Room: Ocean Sciences Campus, Summerstrand
Location: Ocean Sciences Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1200
Email: Hennie.VanAs@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Iuris, LLB, LLD NDip (Pol) and Advocate of the High Court of SA

Glancina Mokone
Ms Glancina Mokone
Position: Lecturer
Department: Public Law
Room: 118 Embizweni Building
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042655
Email: Glancina.Mokone@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LL.B (UFS); LL.M (cum laude; UFS)

Nicholene Nxumalo
Ms Nicholene Nxumalo
Position: Lecturer
Department: Public Law
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2587
Email: nicholene.nxumalo@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (UKZN), LLM (UKZN), Certificate in African Thought Leadership (Thabo Mbeki African Leadership Institute, UNISA). Certificate in African Feminist Studies (Thabo Mbeki African Leadership Institute, UNISA)

HEAVA Professors
Marius Olivier
Prof Marius Olivier
Position: Honorary Professor
Department: Private Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Marius.Olivier@mandela.ac.za

Lilla Crouse
Prof Lilla Crouse
Position: Adjunct Professor
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus

Ali Kamal-Deen
Ali Kamal-Deen
Position: Adjunct Professor
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Ali.KamalDeen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PG Certificate Public Admin, PG Certificate Ocean Gov, LLB, LLM, MA, DPhil; Barrister-at-Law (NLS/CLE)

Research Associates
Sam Adelman
Prof Sam Adelman
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Sam.Adelman@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA (Wits), LLM (Harvard University), LLD (Warwick)

Deborah Casalin
Ms Deborah Casalin
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Deborah.Casalin@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (NMMU), LLM ( University of Geneva), Master in deRechten ( Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Tajudeen Sanni
Dr Tajudeen Sanni
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Tajudeen.Sanni@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB ( University of Ilorin), LLM (Zaria University), LLD (NMMU)

Phil Snijman
Mr Phil Snijman
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Phil.Snijman@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA, LLB, Environmental Law (UCT)

Elijah AdewaleTaiwo
Prof Elijah Taiwo
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus

Emma Witbooi
Dr Emma Witbooi
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: emmavdingle@gmail.com

Professional Associates
Toyer Jappie
Mr Toyer Jappie
Position: Professional Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Toyer.Jappie@mandela.ac.za

Samar Khamis
Ms Samar Khamis
Position: Professional Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus
Email: Samar.Khamis@mandela.ac.za

Administrative Staff
Alta McCleland
Mrs Alta McCleland
Position: Administrative Assistant
Department: Public Law
Room: 0105
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2198
Email: Alta.MacCleland@mandela.ac.za

Tanya Stephens
Tanya Stephens
Position: Admin Assistant
Department: Centre for Law in Action (CLA)
Location: Bird Street Campus
Phone: 041 504 4899/1193
Email: tanya.stephens@mandela.ac.za